Officers Terms of Service

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by rg048, Sep 6, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. As a non grad officer I was wondering how the system can justify paying non grads substantially less whilst at Sandhurst. If there are any legal beagles who could explain how this stands in light of the equal pay act?

My understanding is that you can claim under the act if the following conditions are met:

:arrow: That the work done by the claimant is the same, or broadly the same, as the other employee.

:arrow: That the work done by the claimant is of equal value to that of the other employee.

:arrow: That the work done by the claimant is rated (by a job evaluation study) the same as that of the other employee.

If anyone could help I would be very grateful.

2. FFS :roll:

3. You are a thickett so why should you be paid the same as more intelligent people?

4. The Equal Pay Act does indeed say that, however; this is for comaparing Male to Female employees and not male to male comparators.
    Additionally, the Armed Forces don't come under employment legislation as you are classed as a Crown Servant and not an employee.

5. Service not self. What a leader of men you are going to be. Envy is such a nasty trait

How many civvies working for the same company know what his colleagues ‘pay package’ is?

Surely you knew the rules before you joined

I have a suggestion for you. If you’re not happy f*ck off and ply your obvious talents elsewhere

6. Should have went to uni, three years off going on the p1ss, having fun with the lady folk and get paid more at the end.