Officer vs Soldier

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by adidazzler, Sep 4, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Alright guys girls and assorted others, as my first post on ARRSE i thought i'd pose you with a bit of an internal struggle i've been having with myself and see if you lads can help me sort it out.

I graduated last year from stirling uni with a 2:1 in sports studies and decided that i wanted to go to sandhurst. So off i went to the AFCO had meeting with ACO and went off down to bovington to see the RTR. All well.

Then i come home and through various sources such as mates that are serving soldiers the news etc i find somewhat to my surprise that officers aren't so revered in the army as perhaps an outsider would think. From the jist of things basically they are thought of as a bunch of know it all silver spoon up ARRSE cnuts that deserved to be slapped more than listened too. THIS IS NOT HOW I WANT MY ARMY LIFE TO BE.

I then deceided that perhaps life as a regular would be more of what i was looking for however i've also found from similar sources to above that going in as a regular at 23 with a degree may be frowned upon by my fellow recruits and ill be thougt of as just as much of a cnut as i would of as if i went to RMAS. My quandry is thus when i'm in the army i want to be surrounded by people that i can trust and i can rely on as they will be able to with me, not with preconceived ideas about me or the type of person i am. Whats the best way to go about things guys as i have to do this soon or i never will and its something i really want to do for many different reasons.

2. Don't worry about it.

Be honest, be fair, listen to well-intentioned advice but accept the responsibility.