Officer transferring from Inf to RE

Discussion in 'Sappers' started by saddened_subbie, May 19, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am an infantry officer (Lt, grad) who is a bit disillusioned with the infantry currently. I have been on tour as a rifle platoon commander but am unlikely to get the opportunity to do it again as my Regiment is off the Herrick rotation. The Regiment is also amalgamating with all the heartache that involves as well as the reduced job prospects for everyone from SNCO upwards.

I thought about joining the Sappers at RMAS but chose inf instead and am now wondering if I made the wrong choice.

I have a couple of questions that I would appreciate answered.

Is it possible to transfer at pre-Captain level?
    Who would I need to speak to in the Corps?
    Would it impact upon my career greatly (ie would it be suicide)?
    What is the geo-cell like as a job?

2. Try SF (whatever tier), or aviation , or ask for an MA / ADC job or whatever. What I'm getting at is step up, don't step down.

If you go from the infantry to a CS unit without trying the above you'll look back and regret it, I'd have thought.....??
  3. While your advice is good, that's a pretty arrogant statement to make. I doubt many sappers would consider themselves a 'step down'.
    • Like Like x 2
  4. I have thought about different inf jobs inc MA and ADC but they are jobs, I would still be inf.

As for SF, I have thought about it but the timing isn't quite right. Even if I was lucky enough to pass, then I would still return to RD after a couple of years
  5. And where/what will you be in 10 and 20 years' time?