Officer requirements

Discussion in 'Officers' started by Dist, Dec 25, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Is anyone here able to confirm or not if i will be able to become an officer or not. Ive been told conflicting answers, and when i contacted a recruiting rep by the live chat on the army jobs website, he was unsure and said i had to go down to the local army careers office, which is not realy viable for me at the moment.

My issue is that i have no GCSEs or A levels, but i am studying for a degree with honours at the open university. Some have told me that without A levels and GCSEs i have no chance of getting in, even if i did have a degree, others have told me a degree alone will be enough to cover the entry requirements.

My degree is a ICT degree, and i plan on joining the signals so it is a degree in a relevent subject, and the degree is also made up of some math as well which is at least on level with GCSE math, possibly even A level.

Edit: I just noticed the time, Merry Christmas everyone reading this :)
  2. Cannot comment on if you meet the requirements. What I can say is that OU Foundation Credits certainly used to be accepted as A Level equivalent by many academic institutions.
  3. I'm not following the university option and am going through my AOSB pretty soon. From the information packs from my local AFCO's and internet research:

A - Level leavers require a tariff of 180 UCAS points in order to be accepted for officer selection. (Must have completed A/S and A2).

GCSE's - Unable to join as an officer. (Unless I assume you join as a regular after Year 11 and then pick up the required qualifications in the Army and then get selected for Sandhurst that way) - - - -> As Im not in yet, I'm not 100% on this process.