Officer requirements little hazey

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by Mighty_Man, Oct 20, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

I have looked and searched other topics and threads on this but they're all subject to the particular person so bear with me.

Im in my final year of University, looking at attaining a 2:1 degree in History, got a briefing with a colonel next week about joining as an officer. The problem is i only have 140 Ucas points but thats made of a D and two E's due to discovery of alcohol and idioocy when I was in college. Now I have the two A levels A-E required but not the required 180 UCAS points.

Is there a way around this due to my degree or is it a set in stone requirement, I have seen other threads like this but they were for applications without a degree.

Also to add I have a fair bit of life experiance, International sailing, Air cadets, worked since I was 16 as a lifeguard, oh and Im 22.

I am actually kicking myself about the UCAS points and would wait to ask the colonel but would love some sort of guidance now if possible!

Any help would be appreciated thanks.
  2. You've got a meeting with a colonel? I'd wait to chat to him as I'm sure he'll advise you going forward.
  3. Welcome to Arrse.

At the moment, if you do not have the UCAS points, you will be shown the door. The country is in the grip of a deep recession and the Services are full and will only be interviewing those who meet the stated requirements. I have no doubt that the Colonel will tell you that.

He might point you towards the Recruiting Sergeant because your qualifications will do nicely for Soldier Entry.