Officer or soldier

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by hull_lad, Nov 3, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Im in my first year of sixth form at the moment and have been planning to join the Army as an officer when I finish my A levels. However, I am only half a term in and already I am extremely unhappy with being in sixth form and i'm concerned that after half a year I may be depressed. I am considering joining as a regular soldier, however everyone, including my dad who was a soldier in the REME, is telling me to join as an officer as it is a much better route and career. I feel like this is expected of me though as I did get very good GCSE's (A's and B's) and theoretically should be fully capable of completing my A levels. I would be more convinced to join now as well if I was going to get a trade but I am only interested in joining an infantry regiment (Parachute Regiment preferably). I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me or was in the same situation. By the way I have attended the Parachute Regiment insight course and got the following results:

1.5 mile: 8:15 mins
    Press-ups: 65
    Sit-ups: 83
    Pull-ups: 4 (trying to improve)
    Bleep Test: 13
    Log Run: Completed

So as for my fitness I know I am not far off. The Para told me in my interview that I am ready to join but I still want to get nearer to peak physical fitness.
  2. Do you like salmon pink shirts, and corduroy?

Your fitness is good enough, but heaves could be improved.
  3. Join how you want to join and not how others think you should.
    If you are unhappy with the education you are receiving now, as much as we rib and jibe at ossifers, you will struggle with all the stuff Sandhurst etc. has to throw at you.