Officer Ethics - supporting the arms trade?

Discussion in 'Officers' started by Victorian_Major, Nov 22, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. My Army career was dotted with misdemeanours and I have been casting around for ones that I can claim that the silken tongue of the Emperor Mong (see separate thread) was responsible for. Here's one I can't pin on him...

I once got ten extras (and arguably found myself in another regiment) for refusing to support a major Wiltshire-based military 'happening' that was effectively an arms fair with a solitary and rather afterthoughtish 'public day' to keep the plebs and the audit office happy.

My rather simplistic belief was that as an Army Officer I was happy to use the equipment but less than happy to help BAE, Royal Ordnance, etc sell the stuff. I still think that this is the case and that there's nothing in your pay or in the job specification that requires you to abandon this ethical position.

The Royal Regiment in question was, I think, occupationally bad at seeing this distinction and that was a leadership and a judgement thing. In my later flying career there was far less toadying and courting Westlands for cash, for example.

Was I right? Can a soldier draw the luxuriously ethical distinction that I did? Or are we all - by association - linked to the success (British jobs) and necessary prosperity of such arguably dodgy organisations as BAE?
  2. I think you were bloody honourable.

Different in the WW2 days of Total War, but what is good for the defence industry these days is not necessarily what is good for the Army or the country as a whole. Often quite the opposite.
  3. Biped

Biped LE Book Reviewer

Especially considering that BAe is a US firm in all but name.