Officer Entry

Discussion in 'Officers' started by simpleton7890, Sep 10, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,

I have tried looking for similar subjects, however thought I would post a fresh considering my circumstances.

I am aware that you need 2 ALevels to be considered as an academic prerequisite.

I studied at 6th form and came out with 2 AS Levels at D and D. As well as one full A Level at grade E. This isn't great, its not good news. I didnt take it seriously and whilst not regretting the fun and life experiences that those 2 years brought me, I wish i got some serious results.

Anway, as it stands I have 130 UCAS points and I understand that as a minimum to be considered i should be looking at 180.

In light of this I have enrolled for 2 more AS Levels this year. Presuming I get 2 C's, this would knock me up another 80 points. (I could do better but I'm not getting ahead of myself).

My total would stand now at 210 UCAS points (4 AS Levels and 1 A Level).

Finally, my questions:

* Will this do?
    * Would I need another actual full A Level, or will satisfying the points requirement do?
    * I will go ahead with trying to get my commission anyway, should this even mean another 2 years studying. In this time, what else should I be looking at doing, courses taking, that would contirbute to my application to put me up there with the graduates at selection?

If there are any recruiters out there, anyone who has recently gone through the process or even ANYONE that knows the answers or indeed has bothered to read all this......your help is very much appreciated!!

If I am too far gone and hold a hopeless application I will sign up as other ranks.

Thanks guys