Officer Cadet in Mess kit???

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by You are Where Sir, Feb 10, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I need help,

After 7 years in the TA I have went down the officer route and I am currently an Officer Cadet waiting to go on TACC in May, currently poncing around with my little white tape on.

My problem is this, there is a regimental dinner coming up soon and I have been told by one group of guys in the unit to wear a dinner jacket etc, however within this groups of "friends" we are always keen to pull pranks on each other and I think they are trying to make me look like a cnut.

On the other side is another group of friends who have told me to wear my mess dress with the old white tapes showing, yet again, however these blokes would also like to see me look like a cnut.

Does anyone know what would be correct? please help or I might be killed by the CO when I turn up in jeans and my spare norgy shirt.

Also my apologies if I have put this in the wrong area, I figured it was a kit type topic.

2. Use your brains: ask the PMC or the Adjutant. How do you expect anyone on here to know the answer?

3. Go for the black tie.

You aren't entitled to don the mess kit until you are commissioned and would indeed look a complete cnut with mess kit and white tabs!! :D

4. My advice? get some new friends! :roll:

5. Black Tie,

Real tie - don't even think about a clip on *shudder*

6. Thanks Al, thats what I figured,

The only reason I was confused is because I have been to a few other regiments where private soldiers even had mess kit and this made me think.

and sleeper, we are on exercise next weekend with lots of things that make big bangs, so i might sort that then

7. General Melchett

General Melchett LE Moderator

Do the TA wear mess kit?

8. chimera

chimera LE Moderator