Officer at 18?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by AlexH, Nov 11, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am currently in my last year of sixth form college and am confident of achieving the required 180 UCAS points.

I am not interested in going to university and want to join as an officer as my first choice after i have finished at college.

Will my age play a large part in the success of my application or does age come before personal performance?

Thanks for any comments

2. Congratulations on your anticipated results.

What I would say is that officership (for tis a word) is based on more than simple age or qualifications. A great deal of it relates to social experiences. Knowing when to say 'enough is enough', or simply understanding the need to get stuck in with the lads and have a laugh, often at yourself.

If I were in your shoes I'd actually hit university. Not for the degree in terms of academic achievement, but for the social aspect. It gives you a chance to grow up a bit, learn something of the world, interact with others, and get a proper clue as to how to interact.

In terms of age being considered a part of application - no, not necessarily. However experience and outlook does.

There are few better ways to get that experience and build that outlook than university, which is why the army recruits so many graduates. I'm sure you can guess what my suggestions to you would be, so I won't insult your intelligence by going ahead and making those comments.

However, think carefully. You will not have learned everything by age 17-18, none of us will have done.

3. I do remember seeing a bell curve of passes at AOSB by age. Regardless of academicals you'd need to be pretty stellar. The odds are against you.

Not that university need be the answer.

4. Thanks for the quick replies.