Off to the tailor (lounge suit)

Discussion in 'Officers' started by wm1965, Jan 25, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am thinking: lounge suit, single-breasted (2-buttons), 4 button sleeves, ticket pocket (at slant with pockets), step lapels with button hole, double-vent, super 150 dark grey (I like subtle striped shirts), louche coloured lining. Single pleat trousers with braces buttons.

How about weighted at the bottom of the trousers to maintain a nice fall? I've never tried it before but seems a good idea taken from HM.

Anything else I'm missing? I've not had a bespoke made in 4 years or so.
  2. Rather than weighting the trousers, try a "guardsman slant"- a slant at the hem, so that the front is higher than the back, creating a cleaner break. Everything else you suggested would work, but have you considered a waistcoat? Speak to your tailor; funnily enough, it's his job to advise you...

Edited to add: This thread could probably be merged into Dapper Clothing &c.
  3. Thank you for the reply CB. I will see what he thinks of the guardsman's slant - seems a very good idea. I'm not one for waistcoats.

As for the tailor's advice I took it last time and didn't like it. I'm going again because he's the old man's tailor and promises to be a good boy this time.

Agreed on merging into Dapper; sorry.
  4. No, don't put it into the dapper thread, at least not yet. This type of thread used to be the life blood of this forum, not kids wanting to be Officers!
  5. Are ticket pockets the done thing these days? I'm always torn?
  6. No waistcoat, where is the pocket watch going or have you flogged the albert with todays gold prices. I bet that funded the bespoke in the first place. Ticket pocket is a nice touch, you could have an inside pocket just for your mobile!.
  7. Cold_Collation

Cold_Collation LE Book Reviewer