Off in the reme, avionics tech

Discussion in 'REME' started by LINC_LAD, Apr 1, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hello all, i jst recently passed lichfield and i am goin in2 the reme as an avionics tech after basic trainin. I was just wonderin will i stil get the chance to play sports n go on adventure trainin often, as some people i hav spoken 2 tell me all ure time is spent in a classroom and when finished ther is work 2 do at home sort of thing. i dnt mind puttin in the work but i also want to enjoy the other side of army life. And just anymore info on what i am goin if for wud b gd. chrz damon
  2. As an ex tech myself, sure there is alot of clasroom stuff, as well as continuing being a soldier at the same time. Rough with smooth I'm afraid, but rest assured after your trade training you can get plenty of time off if you want for regimental sports etc, ie rock climbing sailing and windsurfing are three "adventure" sports well recognised in REME as is skiing. But you do need to get your head down and do some work first til you can start abusing the system and getting a shed load of time off, hire cars etc etc (not that I have ever done or condoned such practices! lmao)
  3. Learn to write first buddy, looks good on a nokia but won't impress the lecturers at phase 2.
  4. Potential greenslime and he wants to know how to start skivinng off before he's even in.
  5. I'm at the school now and yes there are opertunities for doing sport, but initially it is sort of confined to wednesday afternoons and weekends. Adventure training does come round and if your in holding or it is over a recess period, you can apply the same as everyone else. Avionics though is the hardest course going and it takes quite a bit of study unlike the SHVATZERS (Aircraft Techs - Blackie scumbag - etc........)
  6. Didn't take long to corrupt you, did it ?