obtain a death certicate

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by carabinier, Jan 31, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Anyone any idea how to obtain a death certificate for a soldier kiiled in action
    in Burma?

suggestions please, clean ones that is

2. That's a good one! I would recommend asking on the alt.soc.genealogy.britain board (IIRC) rather than here - but I will have a go!

In my opinion, the death would be recorded in the death registers, to which the index is available on-line. So, you need to identify the reference, which you do by working your way through the index. Once you have the reference, you can use the web to order the certificate from the Registrar in St Helens for £7, again IIRC.

I have a current subscription to the death registers, so if you know the date and name, let me know and I will have a look.

Litotes

3. Trooper Arthur Vaughan
    3rd Carabiniers

I'm sorry but my friends no idea what date he was KIA just that it was in Burma with the carbs.

I've seen his name in a regimental mag from 1945 but no details apart from to say KIA.

Many thanks

4. In slow time, Carabinier, in slow time!

And thanks to FMOP who got the right town - Southport. I wasn't aware that the price of the certificate had almost doubled - b******y Government!

Litotes

5. Carabinier,

Please visit www.cwgc.org, type "a vaughan" into the search engine and see if you can spot him. I couldn't but it was a very quick sweep.

You could just try Vaughan (are you sure of the spelling?) in case he was known as "Arthur" but not christened as such (not unusual) and vice versa.

We must exhaust this site before I search the death indices - they are mind-numbingly boring!

Litotes

6. Would this be him?

http://www.burmastar.org.uk/vaughan.htm

TROOPER ARTHUR VAUGHAN
    3rd Carabiniers

[​IMG]

Grandson Robert writes: