objects of war and the military souvenir

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by jeaniebeanie, Feb 14, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello there,

I'm looking for some help and information, and this seems the appropriate place to ask.

I am a final year mature student at University College Falmouth currently researching my final year dissertation entitled Objects of War: Consumption, Conflict and the Military Souvenir from Vietnam to Iraq.

I have already interviewed several current and former members of the British Armed Forces, and I'm looking for people who would be interested in contributing to this project. I am interested in the relationship between objects, memory and identity, and have identified two main areas of enquiry.
    The first is the importance of equipment to a professional soldier; I'm interested in which items make up your kit. The second is the idea of the souvenir; things that you might bring home with you to remind you of your experiences.

All responses will be dealt with discretion, sensitivity and in the strictest confidence. I do not have a particular agenda; my interest is in the relationships between people and objects, and the way in which war is 'sold' to the consumer whether military personnel or civilian.
    I have completed a similar, much smaller project on domestic objects and the idea of home which can be viewed here http://www.willforcommunication.co.uk/home/

If you would like to participate in this project you can email me: jeaniebeanie@btinternet.com
    Or, alternatively, you can post a message at my website http://www.willforcommunication.co.uk/ under the 'objects of war' category.

Thanks for your time :)

Jeanie

2. Sorry, forgot to mention...