Hey guys, currently in the process of joining but have a couple of questions you might be able to shed some light on, I have a condition known as congenital nystagmus and although it is not severe I reckon it will hurt my chances of gaining entry, does anyone know of anybody in service with this condition? Or is it an immediate deferral? Tia

NSP

LE
I'm by no means an expert on the entry requirements but I'd hazard a guess that, with your disco-dancing eyeballs, you're unlikely to find it very easy to use a rifle sight, obtain a licence to drive any vehicles, let alone armoured ones, and a host of other things. You may find yourself facing disappointment at the medical assessment. Someone who's actually been in the army will be along soon to tell you that your best bet is to 'phone the recruitment office and ask, etc.

Meanwhile, some linkies...

Medical - British Army
https://www.arrse.co.uk/community/threads/eyesight-requirements-tables-from-pap10.179758/

For those who haven't a Scooby what he's on about:-
Nystagmus - Wikipedia

The_Snail

ADC
RIP
Hey guys, currently in the process of joining but have a couple of questions you might be able to shed some light on, I have a condition known as congenital nystagmus and although it is not severe I reckon it will hurt my chances of gaining entry, does anyone know of anybody in service with this condition? Or is it an immediate deferral? Tia
There's a thread for things like this, you might want to ask in there. https://www.arrse.co.uk/community/t...one-for-every-single-medical-question.257388/