NVQs dished out to Techs in the 1990s

Discussion in 'Royal Signals' started by Hairy_Hacker, Aug 28, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I was a Technician who left in 1999. Just prior to leaving I received an NVQ level 3.

My understanding/ belief at the time was we were signed up as apprentices so that the Army would receive cash etc for our training.

So as 'apprentices' we had to do certain modules and complete a set amount of training hours in order to gain the NVQ.

My questions are: How many hours were spent training to get this NVQ and can I prove it?
  2. Why?

I'm not saying that to be confrontational I just can't see the relevance. NVQ is a measure of competency, it demonstrates that you are vocationally competent in the subject area, some people will be able to achieve that with no training whatsoever. If you want to know exactly what area's you are deemed to be vocationally competent in at technician level (level 3) look at who the standard setting body for the NVQ is, it should be clearly stated on the certificate. From there go to that bodies website and search for "National Occupational Standards" alternatively go here: NOS Directory and search by organisation and suite. The pdf file for that suit of standards will describe exactly what knowledge level and performance standard would have been assessed.

Yes the Army would have drawn down a grant from the relevant SSC for your achievement, probably around £5k to £8k but it wouldn't necessarily mean you were registered as an apprentice, although had you been they would probably have drawnn down significantly more :wink: