Nurse...Join as a Soldier or Officer?

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by hollykimalan, Sep 16, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a staff nurse and have a decision to make.
    Do I join the Army as a soldier nurse or wait till I have another years post reg experience and join as an officer?
    I don’t work in an acute area and fancy the army may be able to give me a better experience than civi street.
    Any honest opinions out there?
    I don’t want to hear any QA baiting pish!
    AR
    x

2. At the end of the day its your decision. I am an O/R nurse- so if you have any questions just ask.

S-D

3. How long have you been qualified?

If you have been qualified for two years or more, only then can you commission.

Otherwise if your straight out of training then its OR for you. Which isnt such a bad place to be start . Apply for a commission when you have a little savy of how things work if thats what you want.

Hope your good at making sand castles cause guess where your will end up.

4. If you have more than a couple of years under your belt and feel you have some leadership qualities and wish to go in as a junior charge nurse/sister then the officer route is for you. You will have to pass a selection board but the route to Captain is pretty clear and the pay is much better than that of a Corporal. It, of course, means that there will be the requirement to fly a desk sooner rather than later and you may find your patient contact time diminishing. If that's not for you try direct entry as a soldier (term loosely applied). You should breeze straight to Corporal on successful completion of basic training and work as a staff nurse in an MDHU. You may not get to work in the area that you like though. Any questions, PM me.