Nurse cadetship- current post grad nursing student

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by PgNurse14, May 1, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. After trawling through many a post to make sure Im not asking a question that has already been asked here goes...

I have been looking at the nursing cadetship, I'm currently 1/3 of my way through a post graduate diploma in adult nursing- I already have a degree and previous clinical experience whichhas allowed me to do the PgDip instead of another degree or UgDip- I will still graduate at same level (RN) but my modules are masters credits. Does anyone know whether this course may be accepted on the cadetship? I understand that it is highly competitive having only 10 places per year; that said what are they looking for in a candidate? I have no previous cadet experience or any other experience that gives me any military standing whatsoever, would this be a huge hindrance? (I am not currently part of the UOCT but am aware that it is a condition of the cadetship)

I am also worried about the AOSB, what does it entail, particularly the fitness side- I have heard about the 1.5 mile run but what are the other parameters?

Any guidance/advice/clarity would be most appreciated!!

2. Hi!