Not a Wah - please answer

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by needtoknowbasis, Feb 25, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. During my youth I served with a line infantry regiment. Five years, leaving as a Lance Jack.

During a moment of madness, I committed a criminal offence that resulted in civilan custody (I beat the granny out of someone - but the details are irrelevent I think) and as a result was discharged.

Anyway, time flies. This was 15 years ago and the record is long spent but obviously the discharge remains. I've got itchy feet and really fancy joining the TA - witht he specific intention of touring.

Be honest, do I have anything to offer? DO I even bother to apply?

I was a good soldier, if I say so myself, but the **** needed it and I gave it to him and feel punished as a result. Maybe rightly so, but my unit wanted to keep me and now I just want to have another crack.

Yes, I did end up doing other things abroad and such but it's mostly shite and not nearly the same - don;t let anyone kid you otherwise.
  2. I think you're fucked..
  3. phone up your local TA unit, ask to come in for a 'chat' with the recruiting officer. be honest with him.
    having a few good referees to state your good character over the last few years may help.

ignore the c*nty little trolls on this site.
  4. What he said !
    I in my foolishness commited a couple of similar indiscretions when in that very nearly had me binned, I have had a couple of interviews at a couple of T.A. centres recently and the response was the same "cheers for telling us, we would have found out anyway!"
    All he can say is "No"
  5. The_Duke

The_Duke LE Moderator