Nikon d3100 to d7000 - good move?

Discussion in 'Photography' started by retread2, Feb 28, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm on the verge of upgrading my Nikon D3100 to a D7000. I am an amateur but enthusiastic photographer who will have a go at anything (sports, portraits, landscapes, etc etc). I'm across the technical differences and can't see me ever needing anything beyond a D7000. I'm also aware that the D7100 is emerging, but can't see any benefit for me for what it brings beyond the D7000.

So for those of you who know what you are talking about, is this a good move?
  2. I looked into the D7000 when I was looking to buy a DSLR. And to be honest, I think it is a quality camera. In the end, I went with Canon, but only as I like that it was a metal body, and I have access to l-series lenses. Given that you will already have some lenses, I don't think you can go wrong. I don't know a lot about it all, but I did a fair amount of research, and it's a good enough camera that a lot of professionals are willing to use it as a backup camera, which says an awful lot in my eyes.
  3. The new model seems to have a slightly faster processor and eight more megapixels - noise is more important than mp, unless you're making massive prints. I doubt there's enough of a difference to justify another £400.

People speak very highly of the 7000.
  4. I have a D7000 and its great. I also have a D3100 as a backup. D7000 is definitely worth the upgrade...

Wait for the D7100. I assure you the 51 point focusing is a VAST improvement over the D7000's 37 point. That alone will make it worthwhile. I am looking under ever rock I see to try and scrape enough dosh to enable me to upgrade.