NI visit - any advice?

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by FARMBOY, Jan 19, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Mrs Farmboy has never been to Ireland and wants to go so I'm currently putting an itinerary together of places to visit both in the Republic and NI.

I know the full on troubles are over (or should I say for the moment) but I was wondering if there are areas that are to be avoided or out of bounds. I'm no longer serving so no dramas there/hiring car with NI plates etc. Not having served on Op Banner I have no knowledge of the ground. I'm probably being a bit paranoid but I just want to plan to avoid any issues in that regard.

Security aside any recommendations of places to see in NI?

2. the airpot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. Just act like a normal visitor. Accents don't matter - there are people from all over the world wandering around. However avoid driving or walking in West Belfast etc - but you could do the "tour"! You could take you own car - English registration plates are everywhere.
    In NI lots of lovely scenery, Fermanagh, North Antrim (Giants Causeway etc), Mourne Mountains, and beaches all around the coast, formal gardens and forest parks galore. Golf links to die for (maybe the wrong word), Museums and Folk Parks, and lots of eating establishments.
    In ROI also lots of lovely scenery (Donegal and going southwards for example ), also Wicklow for scenery, Dublin for museums and some beautiful architecture, also good restaurants. The "fiddle-de-de" for the transatlantic tourists has died away somewhat (don't join in - it is not for "the English"), but otherwise enjoy the entertainment. In ROI expect to pay high(ish) prices for drinks - and ignore the proliferation of unoccupied houses in strange places. That is the result of the current economic situation and will not effect you.