nhs nursing v army nursing

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by paula, Jun 8, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hi im new here and im thinking about a nursing career a friend suggested nursing in the army but what is the difference from civvie nursing? (excluding pay and travel)

2. free clothes
    ring QA recruiting, Ive PMd you their telephone number.

FF

3. thanks that will be more helpful than my nearist afco

4. A damn sight less chance of being made redundant because the local hospital has over-spent by XXX million pounds by buying art for the reception and hiring expensive management consultants....

5. In total agreement with Legs!!!
    I am a student with the NHS, (i'm presuming that u want to start training) good course, (obviously I don't no about army) but there is always a fight for the good hospital places, sometimes about 20 students to a mentor - when that happens on the same day it's a nightmere!!! You do have a wide range of placements etc especially if doing adult nursing! The biggest worry with the NHS is weather u will have a job at the end of three years of work and training! If going the NHS route, research your universities well, you don't want to end up at a really crap one, even though the course is the same the content and examination processess can differ!
    once qualified (as long as u get a job) there are a lot of chances to do other courses etc, but not all of them are free!!

Good Luck!

6. thanks its starting to look like the army is the best choice for nurse training from what i've heard from friends who have went to uni + you get a lot more advantages when joining the army.

7. another couple of good points for you;
    1. Annual Bursary (NHS) or Monthly salary (Army)