NHS - "Best Year Ever"?

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by Bravo2nothing, Apr 23, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Saw this on Sky News.

This smacks to me of an effective use doublespeak, newspeak or any other kind of Orwellian distortion of the truth. Honestly, how can this woman go on National Television and not be worried by the chance of her nose growing.

2. Hewitt has not got the real grasp on the NHS. Maybe she never will by the tone of this statement.
    I work in the commercial medical field and regularly have meetings with CEO, Finance and Procurement/Purchasing bods. One central London hospital(a foundation trust) bought technology from us eighteen months ago. Cost £1 million.
    They now cannot afford to pay for the disposable items to perform the surgery. Therefore a massive capital investment will be happily stored in a room and collect dust from now until whenever. :x
    They didn't budget for the ongoing cost and maintenance of the kit. How in the name of sanity do these managers have a job? I would be on the streets if I ran the business that way.

fastmedic

3. Like the Armed Forces, the NHS is simply not a business. There is scope for making efficiencies and for introducing accountability. However, the natural selection inherent in applying the principle of competition means that some poor gits will be saddled with useless services and will not be in a position to "choose" to go elsewhere.

The wheels are clearly coming off the New Liabour project - corruption over "education x3" may lead to the downfall of Bliar, the claim that the economy is "safe" is no longer taken for granted and the "24 hours to save the NHS" has changed into "9 years to fcuk up the NHS".