Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Morning all. I'm new to this site and considering career in the Army. First off. I'm 30 years old and soon to be 31 so appreciate time is not on my side. Just really wanted to know how many +30's join the army now days? I fully understand that of I'm successful I'd have orders barked at me from colleagues a lot younger than me but that's part and parcel of the military.

The trade I'm looking at is Royal Military Police. I know this won't be a popular choice for some bit I guess it's a case of each to their own. I have plenty of life experience to bring the army and spent 5 years as a civvy copper in my early 20's. Left for family reasons. My father and mother were both army during their younger years and I lost an uncle during the Warrenpoint bomb. So I have a fairl good understanding of military life (as it was back then anyway)

So really after any advice from those who joined in their 30's and anyone in RMP who could give me a bit of an insight to life would be like as a mature entrant.

Thanks in advance and will await RMP banter.

2. I have my start date on the 16th and I'm 30. The way I see it mate, if you want to join the army you don't have a lot of choice! I'd love to be going in ten years younger or be able to gain qualifications for officer entry, but that's no longer an option.

Age is just a number!

3. Thanks for the speedy reply. How did you find all the tests? I'm no brains of Britain but have the grey matter to get me by. I'm fairly fit, play rugby and do lots of cycling. Did you find you were shown more respect for being a mature entrant?