New to Everything!

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Clitti, Oct 27, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello to everyone.I joined the forum last month but this is my first post and i would like to say it has been a source of much useful information so far and is sure to be in the future.As the title suggests I am a newbie,so here is my story.I have wanted to be a member of the Her Majesties Armed Forces for as long as i can remember and tried to join the Royal Marines when I was 18.I attended the PRC at Lymstone in Devon and was dismayed to find out that, allthough I passed all of the fitness tests and endurance tests and was complemented on my mental ability, I was 2KG underweight.I was told to come back in a year with a extra stone in weight.I was gutted to say the least.In that year I fell into a bit of a low,got into some bad shit and the wrong circle and was in trouble with the law alot.I then met met my now wife and she fell pregnant and i sorted my life out and got my priorities right.After a few years the lure of excitement of a life in the forces tempted me again and I applied for the Paras only to be told i had unspent convictions and to try later.Another refusal.So i set my life on being just another nine to fiver but after a few years in and out of various trades my missus could tell I was'nt happy and asked me what was wrong.I told her i wanted to join up and she said,"go for it".So I went to the careers office on my 33rd birthday and found out I was 4 weeks too old.But the Sergeant there suggested i join the TA and go on a tour and then i could be accepted in the regulars.I applied,went for my medical and passed and I have been on my induction,got top marks for everything and did my 1.5miler in 10:30,whilst suffering from a broken rib which happened in a celebration on passing my medical.I've been to the local TA cen