New Respirator

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by wg100, Jul 12, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Anyone else seen this image of the new (prototype) General Service Respirator?
    [​IMG]
    Alternate Site For Images

Just how are you supposed to fire a rifle whilst wearing your respirator? Yes, it is supposed to have two filters!

2. Through an intricate system of periscopes?

Or perhaps we'll all have HUD on our helmets linked to a camera on the rifle by the time it goes on general issue, or possibly if it takes as long to arrive as most new bits of kit we'll have perfected minuature precision munitions that fly themselves onto the target.......

3. I'm no expert, only going on what my friendly NBC instructor was telling me about after a recent CCRF briefing. I believe that the idea is all about sealable valves. You only need one canister on it at a time, but you can add another, close the valve of old one and remove thus reducing the enjoyment of NBC instuctors when conducting ITD(A) 4 canister changing drills in particular.

Of course you would then have a canister in an awkward place. I guess there's a possibillity for just taking a deep breath, sealing both valves, change canister and re-open.. Your guess is as good as mine though, it'll be years before TA get them anyway-probably after A2's and Bowman.

4. .... I heard that the shelf life of canisters for the current respirator will be extended by about 50 years, so there won't be a need for a new model....

Possibly, by the time a new respirator is issued, there either won't be any infantry left or, following the trend to criminalise military activities in line with civilian law, there will be no requirement for ability to fire a nasty rifle thingy.....