New Member.

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by Jamesy1190, Jan 4, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello everyone,

This is my first time on the site so I apologise if this is the wrong place for this thread.

I will be attending an Officers brief early next month and was wondering what I can expect in the first stage of the Officer selection process?
    The recruiter has told me to wear a suit and bring my education certificates but has so far been vague as he said due to not being commissioned he is unsure of exactly what I can expect.

I have the necessary qualifications and I'm working on my fitness (which I recognise needs to be improved before I can join).

One last question, if I were to fail the Officer selection process, would it then be possible to enroll as a Soldier? I would like to serve either way (I'm interested in serving as a soldier, I just feel that if I can gain admission to Sandhurst it would be silly not to pursue it).

Thanks, James.

2. mmmm, you've got a purty mouth....

3. It's a brief. Turn up, try not to come across as a complete idiot. Listen to the brief which will almost certainly explain the process to you, then ask questions on anything you didn't understand.
    Yes.

4. Thank you very much.

5. Good luck in your endeavours, regarding your fitness you haven't stated what you have done so far or where you need to improve i.e Cardio, Stamina, Upper body strength.

6. Thank you everyone.

Fitness: 1.5 mile run 10:30.
    Sit ups: 40 in 1 minute.
    Press ups: 17 in 1 minute.
    Tricep dips: 20 in 1 minute.

I was told by the recruiter that I will need to be able to run 1.5 miles in 10:30.
    Complete 60 sit ups in 2 minutes.
    Complete 44 press ups in 2 minutes.