New lad here & abit of a dilema!

Discussion in 'Royal Signals' started by andynufc, May 10, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi everyone, thought i would just say hello to everyone i'm new to this!

Been reading alot through these forums and found quite alot of usefull information!

In a bit of a confusion here myself! The main thing is, ive had all of my Uni offers back etc so ive got the chance to go in september, but on the other hand im really up for joining the signals as a c communication systems spec or gunner art command systems?

Got an appoitment on tuesday down at the AFCO to talk about it, but i really don't know what to go for? (Army or Uni)

You guys seem like you know better than me, so what would be your advice?

2. First of all; welcome aboard!

Get your butt to Uni first, you can do UOTC or TA whilst you're there, get your degree, drink and make merry. Then if you still fancy it - join up.

Chat with the AFCO and explain your options, they will be best placed to advise you. (Do what's best for you in the long run - not what's best for the recruiters short term.)

Good luck with what ever you choose.
  3. Look at both and go with your gut mate

Some will always say sigs while others will say Art, at the end of the day your the one who will be doing the job so you chose.

ps welcome to the site
  4. I turned down an offer of a place at RAF officer trg to go to uni-hated it, bombed out, failed Army office selection so joined as a soldier-which turned out to be what I should have done in the first place. 22 years later I have my degree and my commission (and many more good things). My point here is go with your instincts, not what you think you "should" do. Things have a habit of working out for the best.