New Employment Model

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by LordPercy, Sep 27, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Maybe we should sell off Downing Street too. That's prime property.

2. FORMER_FYRDMAN

FORMER_FYRDMAN LE Book Reviewer

It's something applied by editors to rid themselves of journalists who are bone enough to rock up on ARRSE and ask questions like that with their first post. Hope that helps.

3. First post or not, it is a perfectly reasonable question, you p*llock. Why the he'll would you think that I am a journalist?

4. FORMER_FYRDMAN

FORMER_FYRDMAN LE Book Reviewer

From the question in your first post and the punctuation in your second. Hope that helps.

5. There is another thread on this - use the excellent search function.

The senior officers should give up their manor houses and servants when:-

- Parliament ends the practice of subsidised bars in the Palace of Westminster.
    - The Prime Minister gives up his grace and favour homes - 10 Downing St and Cheqeurs ( including the military staff).
    - The DPM gives up Doneywood.
    - The Chancellor gives up 11 Downing St
    - The Foreign Secretary etc gives up their luxury apartments in Admiralty House.
    - Dolphin Sq is rented at commercial rates.

And finally, when the good members of the Palace of Westminster guaruntee that all these senior officers will stay in one place for more than 2 years ( including never going to places like Afghanistan) and if they do - that the same priviledges and entitlements that MPs enjoy are granted to soldiers.

6. Notwithstanding the other threads on CEA etc etc, the OP raises an interesting point which I didnt see anyone else picking up from the Telegraph article: