New Career Path...perhaps

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by _Dirk_Diggler_, May 21, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a currently serving soldier, with a technical trade in the RE. Having just returned from a laborious tour of shit jobs and near slavery levels of graft, and with the next three years of exercise and deployment looking like a carbon copy of the last three, I'm considering a change in career path. Having once dated a girl studying Radiography at Uni I found the subject quite interesting and more akin to my strengths at school, namely biology/physics I have held the idea of transfering at some point at the back of mind.

I'm aware there's a requirement for 220 UCAS points for student entry as a Radiographer, but as I don't seem to be able to find a straight answer on the web as to how many, if any, UCAS points my current quals equate to.

I have strong GCSE grades including a double A* in dual award Science and an A in IT but no A levels or equivalents. However, I do have a Level 3 City & Guids Certificate from my A2 trade course, and, if I was to complete my A1 as an engineer, I can potential earn a HNC in building studies.

If I were to look for a transfer, would the RAMC take into account my previous experiences as a serving soldier with a technical background and operational tour experiences, or would the lack of A levels automatically bar me from application?

Also from what I can gather from this site, there is a Radiographer board sat in Feb each year for a Sept intake? If so, what does this board/assesment involve?

Any help from those in the know would be greatly appreciated.
  2. PM Gado on here, she is a bone photographer and will be able to point you in the right direction if not answer your queries.