New Allowances and the paperwork mountain!!!

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by Crusty(LE), Apr 24, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I work in a tri-service unit and have just came back from a 7 day trip to the USA. I currently work one week in every five in the USA. RAF (parent unit) will now no-longer support us Army chaps as they have moved to JPA, so now have to claim etc through local Army unit for admin.

I've been doing this trip for the last 2 years + - no probs, this is the first trip after the new rates/process for claims have come in:

Previously I claimed Hotel + Daily Subsistance + IE - one form (1771), one 'local authority form', one copy of said 1771 to budget manager - nothing else - cash in the bank.

Rant on....

This time:

3 x 1771 sheets, detailing each meal and each incidental expense claimed per day(no 1771 continuity sheets available)

27 receipts marked up with the date and amount highlighted - presented in chronological order (Specifically told this).

4 statements certifying a genuine copy of receipts (where a photocopy was necessary as the total was split over 4 individuals)

2 statements certifying what was spent when the printing on the receipt was not quite legibale.

One authorising letter (signed by me authorising the trip)

One copy of my flight and hotel itenary

One letter stating why the accomodation I stayed in could not be booked through CHBS

One copy of my projected mobile phone bill - to prove the cost of phone calls made while abroad.

Oh, and I now have to photocopy ALL of them so that the budget manager (tri-service unit) has visability of my claims!

I've got them infront of me now - 80 pieces of paper for a one week trip. It has taken me the best part of 2 1/2 hours to fill this lot in. Somebody is having a laugh!!