Negative sides to an officer career

Discussion in 'Officers' started by notaspartan, Aug 19, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Following a chat with my boss I've been left with a question I have no experience to answer; that is what are the negative sides to being an officer over an NCO? I've read lots of "yes its fantastic go and do it once you have life experience" etc. but I've seen no balance to the argument, other than the standard "officer/NCO comparison" threads which do not quite fit the bill.

I can think of "easy" answers from observation: increased hours, constant job moves or the possibility of being left behind at captain or major by potential peers? There is also the risk of being dropped at year 8 and not getting the full pension after all.

Does anyone else have a view on the negatives of commissioning, or ultimately, being an officer?
  2. mysteron

mysteron LE Book Reviewer

So let's shatter a few preconceived ideas:

1. It does not matter what job you do, Army or Civvy St - you run the risk of being left behind by your peers. Life's a bitch isn't it. So that is irrelevant. Either you are effective at your job or you are not.

2. Increased hours. It is not just HM Armed Forces that have jobs that mean you don't work 9 to 5 and 37.5 hours a week. Many jobs also work weekends as well. So that is irrelevant.

3. Constant Job Moves: Market research has shown that most people aged between 18 - 28 will move jobs 10 times (every 2 years, source: Linky).

4. Not having your contract renewed. Again HM Armed Forces does not have the monopoly on that either.

So what are the downsides?