Need some input: Not sure whether to join up.

I'm interested in joining the army, I started the process during my final year at university, I'm currently doing my masters course. However, my selection board is in several weeks and I'm still conflicted whether I want to join up or not.

I want to join the army for the experience and the "not a normal job" aspect, but I'm not sure how well I'd be able to handle the army lifestyle. I like being independent.

My other option is doing a Genetics PhD. Arguably this is where my real interest is, and even if I joined the army I'm not sure whether I'd make a career from it or leave and continue with my science. I'm interested in genetics, which is not something I can do in the army.

How do I decide? I like my life how it is, but I've come so far in the process and sacrificed so much to get here that I'm not sure I want to back down. Nor do I want to think "What if" when I reach the age cut-off date.

Anyone out there had the same problem, or any input in how I can make my decision?

If you are unsure then I would definitely say don't do it. Joining the Army is a big commitment, going for a Commission is an even bigger one, and neither should be undertaken without 100% commitment.

He's been faffing about for 5 ******* years, check his post history

TheresaMay

ADC
DirtyBAT
Well personally I think if the OP's question is genuine - then he should join up ASAP.

Unable to make a decision... You'll fit right in.

And don't worry about getting shit done. That's what you'll have WOs and SNCOs for.

And don't worry about shit going wrong either - we'll take the blame for you while you're away on yet another career advancing course.

Good luck :)

I'm interested in joining the army, I started the process during my final year at university, I'm currently doing my masters course. However, my selection board is in several weeks and I'm still conflicted whether I want to join up or not.