Music software

Hello all,

Bit of a strange one but I have been playing in various bands and jamming groups since getting out a couple of years ago, music is my life, everything from punk to garage, motown to stoner rock, I play a reasonable guitar, fair on piano and am a decent drummer, however! I'm due out on the anti-piracy circuit in 6 weeks for my first job and a pal who has finished his first transit has flagged up how ultra boring it can be, especially on your 'down time'.
I have done the usual,ie, bought an external hard drive and stuffed it full of grot and a couple of hundred films, my ipod is bursting at the seams as well and I've a few books to get stuck into but I fancy playing around with music software, the sort of stuff that you can play about with and effectively make music, samples, ect. I've got a powerful and very capable laptop so anyone used anything like this? Any suggestions?

(also, is it possible to sample my guitar/piano/drums then transpose that to a music programme or format?)

Hope it makes a medium of sense!

Ta !

Jonny

P

PrinceAlbert

I used to mess about with a hooky copy of Cakewalk SONAR, Cubase, and Juicy loop (?)

They're all pretty good. they allow you to set up a stack, sample mp3s, input live music. They're all professional software. I've no idea how much they cost new.

sirbhp

LE
Book Reviewer
I need an Agent for a band in Essex or London , they are made up with blokes from famous bands from 70's and 80's could you pm if you have some advice please troops ? many thanks .

Cubase seems to be the standard, but I would also recommend Cool Pro 2.

If you have a Macbook, Logic Pro is good and not dear to download from Apple Store. I have done some stuff with Audacity which I like. Pro tools seems to be the professional weapon of choice and runs under Windows but is expensive. Be worth getting a usb midi keyboard if you haven't got one or a DI breakout box to plug a guitar in...