MS WORD 2010. Line / paragraph spacing. WHY?

Discussion in 'Hardware - PCs, Consoles, Gadgets' started by BuggerAll, Mar 11, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. BuggerAll

BuggerAll LE Reviewer Book Reviewer

Has anybody worked out how you stop WORD 2010 adding a double space every time you press enter? And preferably setting normal spacing to default/

I've trawled through all the drivel and none of it works. I can change individual documents but have to go through the same rigamarole every time.

On a side not WTF have MS done this? If I want a double spacing I'm quite capable of pressing the enter key.

Oh and SCREAM SCREAM SCREAM!

2. Wordsmith

Wordsmith LE Book Reviewer

I'm a technical author - but fortunately I use Framemaker.... :eek:)

Have you looked at the styles in the document? Word (at least in 2007 and before) has a template called normal.dot (or similar) that holds the default styles for every new document you open. I'd check if the style for 'normal' is set for double line spacing or similar.

(Styles specify the default appearance for every form of text - like Heading 1, Heading 2, Body, Normal, Strong, etc. The default set of these Styles is contained in a Template - of which the default is Normal.dot).

Wordsmith

3. This drives me insane too. I think I have the DS solution though:

See where there's a button for 'Change Styles'? When you click that, go to 'Style Set' and select Word 2003. Once you've done that, hit 'Change Styles' again and click 'Set as Default'. Hopefully, when you then open a new document, you should have normal paragraph spacing again.

4. Highlight/Select affected text, right click, go to paragraph, change line spacing to 'single'... job jobbed.