Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I need some advice on MRSA.

To supplement my student loan, and to gain care assistance for when I apply for Clinical Psychologist training, I work part time as a Health Care Assistant for a nursing agency.

Recently I have started providing home care, and today I found out one of my clients had MRSA when he was in hospital. He also suffers from a lot of bladder infections. The agency I work for told me today, that he is at risk of spreading his infection when he has these bladder infections. They knew this all along, but thought I had already been made aware of this!!!

As I have been caring for this client for about six weeks, including emptying his urine bottle and touching his pets (a dog and cat), is it advisable for me to get a test done by the local GP (which is what I am planning to do), to see if I am infected? Or am I only at risk if I have open cuts etc?

I know this is a strange thing to gain information from, using an online forum, but I cannot seem to find any information on the internet.

2. Keep your hands clean, wash after each time you touch any patient and you should be alright.

7 years in the ambulance service and I never contracted MRSA and I was doing inter hospital icu transfers with MRSA patients!

You'll be surprised at the silly hype pal!
  3. Ok, cheers mate. I thought I may have been taken in slightly by a moral panic, but its just one of my flat mates also had MRSA, so thats why I was a little bit worried.

Still, if I worked for a decent agency I would have been informed about this!.. But thats another story.