MPGS a few questions

Discussion in 'Jobs (Discussion)' started by matt12345, Jun 16, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,
    I am a serving soldier. Who wants to leave because of my personal circumstances
    I will be honest I enjoy the pay and benifits of the army.
    I see that joining the mpgs would let me continue those benifits while having a stable home life.
    Would like to know do you have to leave the army to re enlist in the mpgs or can you transfer without terminating service.
    Would also be greatfull if you are in, or know anyone in the mpgs could you just tell me if you enjoy. Whats good, whats bad about it ect PLEASE
  2. Yeah I'm quite interested in that.
  3. A friend of mine serves with MPGS and speaks well of it. Shift work; 4 days on, 4 days off. 1 run of 4 night shifts in any 4 week period (I think). Military pension continued, accomodation including married quarters. Chance to train as dog handler, dog trainer, kennel management, bit of range time. Promotion prospects good for the switched on at some postings, dependent on manning levels. You cannot be posted beyond 30 miles from usual post for more than 28 days without your written permission. All information is second hand so please verify before getting too excited. I imagine it might be pretty damn dull at times....
  4. #thanks for that kit. I should imgine it can be very dull at times. A job is what you make it i suppose.
    Do you know if you have to terminate service and re-enlist. ANYONE PLEASE
  5. You can transfer. I know this for a fact. It is a discharge of sorts, you finish Regular one day and start the MPGS the next. So they can cut your pay but it doesnt count as a break for pension purposes. Can join after you leave too, if u want.
  6. You have to leave the Army.... and get back in the next day!