Moving from TA to Regular...

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by cleanbluesky, Jan 14, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Have seen various advice about whether it is possible or not to go from TA to regulars, has anyone does this or known anyone that has?

Also, is it possible for both NCO and Officers to do this?
  2. ah dont trust me eh? ;)

The only way you can go from the TA to the regulars is either discharge from the TA and enlist as a regular (in which case you will go through training, or at least some of it) or by going FTRS.

As an officer i am not 100% sure because its even more complicated due to the fact that RMAS for TA and regular is massively different.
  3. Lol - you should take it as a sign that I do trust you, at least enough to put doubt in my mind whereas I was previously certain...

I think I've seen people on here say that people swap between TA and regulars, but also what you said about the TA being far less trained/fit/capable than regulars (which I would understand)...

I'd expect that a lot go into TA once they leave regulars, which might be what people have been referring to on here...
  4. You can apply for an S Type engagement (wether thats only for your paret unit or what I don't know), You'll be signed up to the regs for a year with the option of staying in if you want and if they're happy with you, you'll be put into a company (the one were they need men) and I think thats how it works....Wether the people who know what to do in combat situations (NCO's) and the people who don't (Officers) get the same options I don't know, I should imagine so...