Motivation? needed!

Discussion in 'The Training Wing' started by Ravensnest, May 26, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey, i'm looking to join the TA soon (looking to join regulars when my fitness is better). I started training last year for the regulars and got as far in the careers office as booking the RSC dates. In truth i panicked a bit as my fitness level wasn't filling me with hope. At 18 6 foot and 15 stone, weight that i cant shift for some reason. It left me out of the BMI green zone. However as my recruitment dude said i wasn't fat, just built like a brickshithouse he was gonna send a reccomendation thru. But i couldn't get my run time past 13 mins (i wanted to go infantry, then RGJ now part of the rifles i hear), it also leaves me incapable of doing more than like 5 pull ups and decided to leave it for then.

Had a few problems at home and decided not to pursue the training anymore. I applied for the police (don't start :eek: ) and suprise suprise, turned me down because i'm white basically. Shaking the idea out of my head i decided to look back to the army figuring if i joined the TA i'd get a better idea of the army life and fitness needs. BTW i know i definately want to do the army as a career, a couple of years of retail work as def put me off staying on civie street.

Just looking for a motivational boost to help me stick at it this time

Has anyone else been in that situation and beaten it, or feel like giving me a boot up the arrse for my sob story lol

i'd appreciate the help tho
  2. msr

msr LE

Stop feeling sorry for yourself, get down to your local TA unit.

They will be able to give you some fitness pointers.

In the mean time, get onto google and start searching, or go to your local gym and start burning calories. Spend £25 for an hour of a private trainer's time to sort you with a plan.