Mortar identification

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by Hitch, Jan 31, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Can anyone assist? I need to identify two mortars used by attackers from the In Amenas site in Algeria recently. I'm no expert on mortars, but can anyone help?

I've uploaded the best images I can find, one is more straight forward than the other. Grateful for any input. PM if more details needed.

Attached Files:

2. Left one is a russian 82mm mortar, the square base is a good identifying feature.

3. I'm not an expert but the one on the left looks like a bog standard Soviet / Chinese 82mm. I had to cart one of the ******* things from Warminster to The Old Bailey on a job years ago.

The one on the right, hard to judge the scale, poss 120mm?

PM Dinnger for a professional opinion.

4. Thanks!

On closer examination, the system under the tarpaulin seems to be a homemade weapon seen in a seperate TV clip. Looks to me like a DIY recoilless rifle, maybe from the Libyan conflict. But could it be a DIY mortar given the angle of elevation? I've identified the ammunition as S-5KO 55mm rockets normally intended for use on pods fitted to aircraft.

Grateful for any advice.

Attached Files:

5. CanteenCowboy

CanteenCowboy LE Book Reviewer

Square base plate on left 82 mm (Sov/Chin, cant tell from here) right hand one is a really bad picture from a poor angle, you're lucky we can see if it's a mortar.

6. CanteenCowboy

CanteenCowboy LE Book Reviewer

Don't try and fire the thing, just in case.............

7. It looks like the thing on the right is on a relatively flimsy tripod, so more of a rocket than a mortar, I would think. A mortar would need something substantial (usually the barrel itself) to provide enough resistance to the recoil.

8. Thanks for the input. Dinnger PM'd - but any other thoughts?