MOD90 and Rail Cards

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by The_Green_Manalishi, Feb 24, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Does anyone have any idea how long it takes TA soldiers to get issued a MOD90 when all paperwork has been submitted? I have my army number (and have done so for the last three or four weeks). I have loads of travelling to do for work in the next few months (not all of which I'll be reimbursed for), and I'll save loads of money if I can get HM forces rail cards.
  2. msr

msr LE

I don't believe the TA are entitled to Forces Railcards.

3. Oh, well that ruins that bright idea by TGM. There goes my savings!
  4. I didn't think that TA were allowed to keep their MOD 90's with them - unless thing's have now changed since Iraq, Afghan etc...
  5. I'm very new to the system so if I say anything that doesn't make sense it will be me that's wrong about it! OK, I suppose this is my question pretty much answered.
  6. msr

msr LE

7. Most T.A units will only issue a Chit in lieu as opposed to the Mod90 which for some reason they like to keep in filing cabinets!
  8. I don't know how long it takes a TA soldier to be issued an MOD 90, it usually takes about 48hrs before they lose it though, hence the reluctance of some units to issue them.
  9. My mob keep theirs. Other than losing them, are they easy to replace once they've been battered a bit/snapped by the troop commander fiddling with it? Railcards can't be done until mobilised I don't think, check out the link though. Can be handy for places like Millets/blacks/airlines.
  10. what is a chit in liue card then?
  11. Everyone in TA gets to keep them now!

It used it be a chargeable offence to loose it, but not anymore....