MOD Hacked

Mr_Fingerz

LE
Book Reviewer

Wordsmith

LE
Book Reviewer
I work for a major software company. Although I'm not a developer, as one of the requirements of my job I have to do a 'secure coding practices' course every couple of years. Although I don't understand all of it, it has given me a degree of insight into the level of technical skill required to hack more secure systems. Here is one of the simpler techniques: SQL Injection.

SQL injection - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Assuming no one in the MOD has done anything as stupid as leaving default passwords in place or using passwords like Pa$$word or Passw0rd, you shouldn't be able to get into the more secure parts of the MOD without a lot of technical knowledge and a lot of patience.

Although, if I were in charge of intelligence for a hostile power, finding a world class hacker and paying him by results would be a good use of my budget...

Wordsmith

lill

Old-Salt
it was a DDOS not a 'hack'. obv. using the correct terminology and description of such is beyond even the Guardian's hacks!

edit. wrong organisation. i was thinking of the SOCA thing earlier today

I don't know why anyone would want to hack into the MoD's computers, given that it is so easy to hack into the networks run by the companies who supply their kit: step forward BAE Systems, for example.

Assuming no one in the MOD has done anything as stupid as leaving default passwords in place or using passwords like Pa$$word or Passw0rd, you shouldn't be able to get into the more secure parts of the MOD without a lot of technical knowledge and a lot of patience.
You would think they'd have more sense, wouldn't you?

I know of at least two or three of our comms systems with some of the most common default passwords in the world left in place. I wouldn't be so confident about the rest being any more secure.