Mobilisation & matching civvie pay of day-rate contractor

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Jan_van_Riebeek, Nov 17, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi Guys

I have done a search of this forum but I havent found anything for this particular issue. Perhaps someone has experienced the same and could PM me with details.

I am a day rate contractor working via an Umbrella corporation. As such, the day that I leave to go to RTMC my contract terminates and I am essentially unemployed. I have been on this current contract for 1.5 years and have a P60 and all my weekly pay statements to prove the rate I charge.

From what I am being told, it seems that if you are not in employment the day you mobilise, then they wont match your pay. However they also say that you shouldnt be monetarily penalised when mobilising, which I would be massively (about 4-5 times less)

Has anyone else been through a similar situation? If so, did you get your pay matched, and what did you have to show to get this. I mean surely if you show your last 76 weeks worth of pay statements proving a day rate they should take it.

Please dont answer "speak to your PSI/PSAO/RAO" etc, I will be exploring those avenues as well but want to get it from the end user's mouth first of all.

Thanks for any help
    Jan

2. msr

msr LE

Don't volunteer :)

msr

3. Firstly I would be very interested in what happens to you as I am in a similar position except I work thorugh my own limited company

Its my understanding that you have to prove your wages over the last year, so in theory you should be ok