Mobilisation for self-employed / contractors

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by BeerBad, May 24, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. First of all I want to apologise for asking a question that probably has already been covered in this forum (haven’t work out how to do a search).

I am in the RNR and have been asked if I would be available to be mobilised for Op HERRICK. The RNR are carrying out “intelligent mobilisation” whereby they take those who want to go and whose work circumstances allow it. I want to go but I am concerned as I am a contractor and have not been able to get a straight answer as to how MOD deals with contractors / self-employed individuals. All the money I earn is paid through my limited company and as such I don’t have a wage with which to provide a P60 as proof of income. I have already posted this question in Rum Ration but as the TA is a much bigger organisation so there should be a greater pool of knowledge.

Thanking you in advance.
  2. Your company accounts will be just as good - just expect to take a long time getting processed. Probably worth while to get a good accountant to go through your books first.

Some self-employed do well out of the system, others get shafted.
  3. RP578

RP578 LE Book Reviewer

I'm a self-employed/sole trader and I was mobilised for, and served on, Telic 7. As with the advice above, I'd recommed that you take along your company books and tax returns for the last couple of years. I try damn hard to make a net 'loss' every year as part of my one man jihad to deprive Gordon Brown of as much of my filthy lucre as is possible. A tactic that bit me in the arrse at Chilwell.