Mk 6 Helmet

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by Cuchalain, Feb 25, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Good afternoon all, I'm wondering if somone here on arrse can point me in the right direction. I'm a final year engineering student and have been given a coursework assignment to write a piece on an item of my choice constructed of a polymer material. As i'm going to Sandhurst in September I though it would be relavent to write about the standard issue British Army helmet.

I was hoping that somone could help me out with relevant technical specifications. I'm also interested in opinions on the said piece of kit, mostly from an engineering point of view, but all input is welcome. Any comparisons with equivalent foreign equipment would also be really useful.

If you require an ID of some sort before sending out info just send me a PM. All help is greatly appreciated
  2. It hurts more than a trifle bowl would if dropped on you from the same tree house hideout.

It carries more water than an Italian helmet

The chinstrap is modelled on a segment of Orange peel and cups the standard chin beautifully.

You can headbutt a kite marked British Double glazed window safely but expect minor but repairable damage to the cover.
  3. I've often pondered the question of:

"If I take a dump in it, will the owner notice before they put it on".

Other than that it's heavy, cold and I don't like wearing it.

Can you design an armoured Mong Hat?
  4. I've never had a problem with it, maybe I'm one of the few people who have a similar head to whoever designed it. ie a mong who likes having a cold head.

If you design a new one, make one that doesn't freeze when not in use.
  5. As it's in the public domain, I can point you in the direction of this: