Minimum Requirments for jobs

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by parabol, Jan 14, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. For the job of Communication Systems Engineer, it states you need GCSE C in Maths, English and a Science-based subject.

I noticed this job isn't on my job list I got after completing my BARB test. I scored highly, and have put it down to having a D in Science. I have the C's in Maths and English though.

I'm wondering if they give you a bit of leeway when it comes to min grades, if you have other qualifications? I have a GNVQ in ICT, which I'm hoping would overrule having a D in Science considering it has a lot of relevance to what I'm choosing. I'm also studying for my National Diploma for Public Services, whether that will help or not I'm not sure.

I mentioned it briefly to my careers adviser, but I should be talking about it more tomorrow with him though! Just thought I'd bring it up to see if any of you guys have still got your jobs despite not having the stated min grades.

2. I've been asking this same question (albeit regarding the RMP and not having a C in my Maths). I'm not sure if the GNVQ in ICT will help but the Public services accounts for something like the equivelant of 2 (or 3) A-levels if I'm not mistaken, so that may be of help. I'm popping in on Friday to ask about it. Good luck with your Pre-ADSC tomorrow by the way.

3. Cheers buddy! No doubt I'll know a lot more about it tomorrow so I'll report back. 8)

4. Hate to break it to you, public services is naff all to the army it wont give you any extra boost over recruits without it, whereas better GCSE's will.

5. I'm sure it helps in some way or another, hence why the army are paying me two grand to finish the course. The diploma will at least show I've got commitment.