Military Wedding Dress Regs

Discussion in 'The Other Half' started by Reggie9MM, Dec 15, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, Im new to ARRSE and I've only been a Gunner for a little over a year. Im trying to get some serious answers to a couple of questions that endless amounts of net surfing has failed to answer. I have also asked JNCO's and SNCO's and everytime I get a different answer.

I currently serve with the Royal Artillery and I am getting married next year. My future wife has planned the event well and desperately wants to stay in keeping with RA tradition. I have planned an Honour Guard/Sword Guard purely for the traditional photographs but I am unsure as to whether we are 'permitted' to wear swords with our No1 Dress as we are all at the bottom of the command chain. I/they have no intention of performing any form of salute as we are only Gunners and therefore there is no one to salute to, but I would like us to be able to wear the swords as a compliment to the military uniform.

Does anybody know where the dress regs stand on this matter or is it just a personal choice? :?

I understand that anybody can hire these swords from many reputable companies.

Many thanks.
  2. Techically, it should only be you in No 1 Dress and the honour guard in 2's. As for the swords, you can wear them.
  3. I've never seen anyone less than WO1 wear a sword, are regs different across the cap badges?
  4. Me neither.
  5. RA dress regs- you can wear the swords with permission. Have you asked your RSM as this is his area?
  6. The RA has dress regs? Looking at some of the officers in the past I very much doubt it :) I'm sure Gremlin or Cuddles will agree on this at some point.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Like Like x 2

7. True, I just like the photo.