Military Kit Provision

Discussion in 'Military Clothing & Boots' started by Tug498, Apr 18, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Alright,

I am new to the military and will, no doubt, betray my naivity very quickly but as a veteran of public service and private industry I am growing increasingly frustrated by what I beleive is a complete disregard of good judgment and common courtesy to soldiers by the people who decide on our kit.
    As an example, the issue boots have come close to destroying my feet. I believe that others are okay with them, however, I do a lot of walking in varying terrain mostly mountainous) and considered my feet to be pretty well bomb proof with hardened leathery heels that stood up to 2 months in plastic boots during a trip to Greenland.
    I break in my issue boots and my feet are soft mush with blisters all over the show despite all manner of normal (and some abnormal) trials to get a better fit, reduce rub etc.
    I will endure them because that is what is required of me but why do the bods in charge consider this to be acceptable provision in a small, modern, professional army? Those of you that feel they are appropriate, would you keep them rather than take a more "gucci" boot?
    Surely you must get the basics right to mainain moral and prevent uneccesary injuries and such a fundamentally important item as footwear is decided on cost alone (it seems)?
    I appreciate that much of kit provision is a compromise between cost and quantity but if they can spend £100 billions ******* up building a jet or spending £22 on a light bulb then surely they can tell squaddies that they can have a decent boot off the shelf to their liking e.g. lowa, alt-berg etc.