MIG welding

Discussion in 'DIY' started by Joe91, Jan 6, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Any tips on welding outside corner joints? The settings seem to be ok just struggling to keep weld level, i'm a bit of a newbie to welding so is it just practise?

2. What are you welding? what gauge of metal and size of wire?

Just started myself, getting some help from my work mates :)
  3. You don't say what you're trying to weld (angle-iron, box-profile etc) but it's always a good tactic to knock yourself up a sturdy clamping jig out of wood or something. You can offer up the pieces to be welded, adjust things and make sure you have everything lined up correctly before you start.

4. Steel 1.5 mm gauge (I think) for nvq 2 course, not sure of the wire size.

Cheers for replies, I think a clamp and practise is the way forward. :)
  5. All you ever wanted to know MIG welding linky
  6. Might sound daft, but if its for your NVQ, can't your instructor help?
    • Like Like x 1
  7. You should be on 0.8mm wire for 1.5mm steel. 1mm wire will be a bit much.

If you need more fill then turn the wire up a little and move the torch a little slower. You can always "draw little circles" with the welding torch to get a wider fillet. This wouldn't apply so much for high spec stuff like pressure vessels but for most fabrication can be a useful technique.

Practice is the main thing and experiment with the settings

If you can't fix it with a big hammer and a welder......
  8. Thanks for the link Happy has some good info on that site.

Yes Mitt the instructor can help I just wanted to see if I could pick up anymore tips to help me (and I have) also it's a big class so the instructor doesn't always get to see everyone.