Mexico (Cancun) May 2013

Hi guys... I am getting really excited to have booked my all inclusive holiday next year for 3 weeks in Cancun (11 May – 1st June 2013).

As this is my first time in Cancun, and travelling from the UK on my own, I'm just wondering if anyone has any good tips or advice for me? Things to do, places must see, how's the weather, Things to avoid, safety etc.

Slightly apprehensive about travelling on my own and would like to meet other people. I would love to get out about about to experience the local culture and history - I'm not the type who justs sits arse on a sun lounger in hotel resort for 3 weeks! :eek:)

Many thanks!

I have had the money changers try to take £'s and give the $ rate. Otherwise it was OK.

I've been to Cancun twice. It was full of Yank birds in itty bitty denim shorts who adore Brits and go "Gee, love your accent," even if you're a Scouser or Brummie.

The main place was Senior Frogs, which is open til about 2am, and also there's Dady O and Dady Rock. But there are loadsa smaller bars and clubs there.

Topless is allowed on the beaches, but Yank birds don't really do topless that much.

The ancient Mayan ruins of Chitchen Itza are worth a visit. If you look on the tourist maps, You'd think it was just out of town, but it's actually a 3 hour bus trip there.

There was a series of Geordie Shore filmed there last year, which is a more up to date picture of what Cancun is like.

Remember not to set up a rival drugs cartel during your two week stay or you may find yourself sans genitalia, hanging from a flyover bridge with the footage posted on bestgore.com.

If you manage that then feel free to empty your DNA into lots of Californian women's throats & anuses.

I hired a jeep to go to Chitchen Itza and stayed at a couple of towns in the vicinity which was nice. The roads are dreadful so don't drive fast. several times I thought that we were going for a spin out in the countryside.